Using the Loaf for Learning recipe from the incredible Laurel’s Kitchen Bread Book:

1. Preparing the yeast–as usual: made a point of warming the cups and pans
2. Mixing–as usual
3. Adjusting consistency–didn’t think I needed to add flour
4. Kneading–300 strokes, adding in 4 T of flour in the first half of the kneading. Still quite sticky.
5. Rise I–in oven with light on. 1-1/2 hours. Sticky, but absorbed the flour on the board during deflating…
6. Deflating–as usual, taking care to keep the top on top
7. Rise II–Leah began dinner, so this was done just on the counter and took a long time. Very gradually moved it closer to heat and finished it in the mostly cool oven with the light on. I actually finished it in the microwave with a cup of hot water to warm things. Poked the air bubbles under the surface. Finally started the rounding process at 1-1/2 hours, since my finger indentation was only filling in a little bit. Need to work on my timing.
8. Rounding–took care to keep the top of the dough as the top of the bread. Was not relaxed after 10 minutes, so just re-dampened the cloth and let it relax another 15 minutes before the shaping.
9. Shaping–Don’t have this down really well, yet, but it wasn’t bad.
10. Proofing–in the oven with the light on. 45 minutes. Turned on the oven to 350 for 60 seconds. The dough didn’t top the sides, but then I’m using the 9-inch loaf pan, not the 8-inch one Laurel suggests.
11. Baking–After 30 minutes, I turned it down to 325 and gave it 15 more minutes.
12. Doneness–I’m still not sure of the hollow sound, but I think I had it. I left it in the hot pan and went to bed.
13 Looking at your bread:
The loaf–looks good, even beautiful. Slightly bumpy like moguls on top, though.
The crust–Definitely warm, rich, and evenly colored.
The crumb–Fairly even pattern of air holes, but slightly denser on the bottom

TWO QUESTIONS: Why do I keep getting loaves with air bubbles during Rise II, and denseness on the bottom of the loaf? Still too moist?

