Is my DE for real? I’m going to test myself 15  minutes into any workout (thus stopping all the good things that are going on with my heart rate when I exercise), plus every 30  minutes thereafter?

Really? My goal has always been to run a marathon. That ought to be fun, stopping every 30 minutes.

My goal is to hike up Pyramid Mountain with my family. Say we do it with the Audubon Society…Am I really supposed to stop the group every 30 minutes while they all peer at me checking my blood sugar? How fun for them! Not to mention, me!

And what do I do with the used test strip and sharp in the middle of a marathon or up on a mountain? Run the marathon with a backpack?

SIGH!

OK. That’s out of the way. I’m only just beginning my diabetes education, and I need to be patient as I learn to teach my little receptor cells to hook up with the sugar-carrying insulin so my cells will quit thinking they’re starving and calling on the liver to make baby glucose, which then makes the pancreas freak out and make more insulin…

And patient as I learn how to deal with all the practical things like I’m whining about here. Thanks, Gayle.

Tomorrow: A BLOG COMPLETELY UNRELATED TO DIABETES! I’M SICK OF THINKING ABOUT IT, WORRYING ABOUT IT, TALKING ABOUT IT…

I’m going to work on my novel.

How’s that for a positive move?

Blessings,
Voni
 

