Would you rather be pampered at a luxurious beachside resort or visit exotic cities and learn as much as possible about the local culture and people?

Sponsored by My LifeScoop: Bringing You Tips for a Connected LifeStyle

View 112 Answers


I would rather learn about the people and culture and really understand a place, than be pampered in luxury. The pampering could come after the learning, after the influx of ideas and thoughts that would happen, and after the writing that would inevitably be prompted by such an adventure.

(By the way: Could it be South America, please, or Denmark?)

My husband and I do not see eye to eye on this topic. For a vacation, he would rather make one long round trip (witness our vacation/move to Alaska), seeing everything possible along the way. That’s actually very cool in its own way, and has allowed me to see many things I otherwise would not have seen.

I’d rather hurry to a place, and stay there. I don’t want a Tijuana experience, or a Cabo San Lucas experience. I want to visit a Mexican town and meet some locals, see the local culture, try out my Spanish on them. I don’t want to visit a Bahamas tourist beach. I want to see where those who live there spend their time, try what they like to do, eat what they like to eat. I don’t want to drive past a mountain and stop at an overlook…well, I do, but…I want to hike the mountain. Agreed, I’ll see fewer mountains that way. That’s all right by me.

However, I certainly enjoyed some pampering when I was in the middle of writing my novel a couple of years ago. My husband knew just the right timing to buy some time with a masseuse for me! He’s awesome that way.

So, adventure…ideas…writing…THEN pampering!

Blessings,
Voni

