A Simple Woman’s Daybook

 For Today… Tuesday, June 08, 2010

Outside my window… If I weren’t inside my window,  or if my window weren’t un-openable, I’d be able to hear the sounds of the ocean to go with the fresh sunshine clearing sky.

I am thinking…I’m so glad we had Gary and Candy over last night. Freshly cleaned house! Well, the tub needs a little work.

I am thankful for… My summer reading list.  I needed to keep my mind busy and catch up on some books I’ve been “going to read” for several years.

I am wearing… My workout clothes. Again. Except, I’ve already done my 23-minute workout. It was so wonderful, I even ran 8 minutes of it.

I am remembering… Some things I need to look up while I’m on the computer.

I am going… to Anchorage tomorrow.

I am hoping… my time to myself in Anchorage will be full of prayer and novelling.

On my mind… gotta work on my novel. I’ve got to finish these character sketches! This is getting boring to post. I gotta actually do it! Third time for this!

One of my favorite things… Grandma’s home-baked rolls.  The smell of her house.

From the learning rooms… Richard III

Pondering these words… "No people will tamely surrender their Liberties, nor can any be easily subdued, when knowledge is diffusd and Virtue is preservd. On the Contrary, when People are universally ignorant, and debauchd in their Manners, they will sink under their own weight without the Aid of  foreign Invaders." –Samuel Adams, letter to James Warren, 1775

 I must be in need of reading a Sam Adams biography, because I am always very touched by his quotes. May we be intelligent and moral rather than universally ignorant and debauched!

I am reading…Fermat’s Enigma by Simon Singh. From Chapter 5: (Mathematician Goro Shimuro about his partner, Yutaka Taniyama)–“He (Taniyama) was gifted with the special capability of making many mistakes, mostly in the right direction. I envied him for this and tried in vain to imitate him, but found it quite difficult to make good mistakes.”

 From the kitchen… New opportunity to bake bread today.

Around the house… Well, laundry again. But then, Tuesday is laundry day as well as Simple Woman’s Daybook day.

A few plans for the rest of the week… Get into the Bill Bennett history book later this week. Can’t wait to get back into my Latin studies, either!

Blessings!
Voni

