There is an older woman and her husband who sit in front of us at church. She has some issues; I’m not sure what, but I’m guessing beginning stages of Alzheimer’s. Sweet lady always with a sweet smile who obviously loves the Lord, and her husband. He is always so gentle and caring toward her.

I’ve been particularly fascinated to see how the power of the music touches her, but I was given chills yesterday.

"Soon and very soon
I am going to see the Lord," we sang.

I saw her face literally burst into smile.

"Soon and very soon
I am going to see the Lord,"

She began bouncing on her toes.

"Hallelujah, hallelujah
I’m going to see the Lord."

She grabbed her husband around the waist in a one-armed embrace, unable to keep herself from drawing him close to her in her joy.

"Soon and very soon
I am going to see the Lord."

Her husband is a man, through and through, but his fingers began to tap the pew in front of him.

"Soon and very soon
I am going to see the Lord.
Hallelujah, hallelujah
I’m going to see the Lord."

Lord, may heaven be as real to me as it was to her. I see the Alaskan mountains, the ocean and the forests, my family and friends, and I am amazed. For the truth is, as wonderful as this is, heaven is better. Better beyond my comprehension.

Lord, may heaven be as real to me as it is.

May you be as real to me as you are!

Blessings,
Voni

