A Simple Woman’s Daybook

For Today… Tuesday, August 31, 2010


Outside my window… SUNSHINE!!! GLORIOUS SUNSHINE!!! (If you lived in Kodiak, you’d be excited, too!!!) P.S. 20 minutes later…sunshine gone. Life in Kodiak. 🙂 Still going to workout outside!


I am thinking…I can’t wait for this Frontline video to download so I can get it applied on my pets. Tired of fleas, which apparently came up from down south as eggs when we had them shipped up. There are no fleas in Alaska, you know!

I am thankful for… new friends with like minds and hearts.


I am wearing… brown pants, and pink, ruffled shirt. I’m actually NOT wearing jeans today J


I am remembering… appointment with the diabetes educator today at 10:00

I am going… to workout today. Outside in the glorious sun!

I am hoping… my appointment with the DE will get me back to thinking in healthy ways. I feel so much better with it under control, it’s hard to think about it. BUT, I want to keep it under control, and the weight off, so I can’t take time off thinking about it, though I am feeling so well, can I?

On my mind… all I’ve got to do today.


One of my favorite things… Grandma’s home-baked rolls. The smell of her house.


From the learning rooms… about time to finish math and move onto logic for the day.


Pondering these words… “That practice which is alike the most holy, the most general, and the most needful in the spiritual life is the practice of the Presence of God. It is the schooling of the soul to find its joy in his Divine companionship, holding with Him at all times and at every moment humble and loving converse, without set rule or stated method, in all time of our temptation and tribulation, in all time of our dryness of soul and disrelish of God, yes, and even when we fall into unfaithfulness and actual sin. We should apply ourselves unceasingly to this one end, to so rule all our actions that they be little acts of communion with God; but they must not be studied, they must come naturally, from the purity and simplicity of the heart.” –The Practice of the Presence of God, by Brother Lawrence

 

I am reading… Michael Phillips’ and Judith Pella’s series, “The Russians.”  It’s fascinating history, together with a story of personal spiritual growth.

 

From the kitchen… Smoked turkey sausage and peppers for supper tonight.

Around the house… Well, laundry again. But then, Tuesday is laundry day as well as Simple Woman’s Daybook day.

A few plans for the rest of the week… to discover if I can download the Pimsleur Spanish courses.

Blessings,
Voni

