I was in line at a fast food restaurant at lunch today, when the man in front of me (an 18- to 22-year-old, dark-haired young man enjoying lunch with some friends) pulled out a gift card to pay for his purchase. It was in a little envelope designed for gift-giving, and his friends noticed that the envelope was marked to show that the gift card was "From Jesus."
 
Friend did not come across as disrespectful, but he did comment with a grin…"Who gave that to you? Your Grandpa?"

"No, my Dad did," Young Man shrugged. There seemed to be more to that, which the friends had shared, but which wasn’t for public discussion.

"He just wanted you to know Jesus gave you gift card!" Friend laughed. Again, I didn’t sense disrespect.
Then they moved on, and it was time for my order.

Perhaps Young Man’s dad is a believer, who was looking for a simple, quick way to share that faith with his son, which his son wouldn’t reject outright. Perhaps there was a falling-out which is just now beginning to heal.

I, of course, have no clue about the truth of the situation, so I’m only speculating. But the fact is, Young Man could’ve tossed aside the gift envelope when he put the card in his wallet. Perhaps something about that gift card "From Jesus" spoke to the deeper parts of his son.

I pray Young Man’s dad realizes–with hope–that (whatever the truth of the situation) his gift to his son did not go unappreciated or mocked. And I hope he realizes–with hope–the the fact he was ministering to his grown son in Jesus’ name was not lost on Young Man nor his friend.

And as a bonus, it reminded an innocent bystander–me–of James 1:17:

"Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows." (NIV)

So…Jesus DID give him a fast-food gift card!

Blessings,
Voni

