If–and it’s a very big "if"–I were to write an autobiography, it would be called "Clay in the Potter’s Hand," since that is how God works in my life. The thing is, to allow God to work in your life, you’ve gotta be soft clay, which is not so easy. I become hard clay, indeed, when bad things happen to my family and friends…MS, headaches, mean people, divorce, depression…Well,  I don’t like it, I don’t like it, I don’t like it! And when bad things happen to me, myself, I want to become a puddle.

Neither thing works.

God can’t mold hard clay or puddles…in other words; He can’t use the good, the bad, and the ugly of life to shape me into His creation if I don’t let Him!

I love the story in Jeremiah 18. God tells Jeremiah to go watch a potter at work, and Jeremiah does. The pot he is making gets messed up, so the potter forms the clay into another pot. "Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, O house of Israel," God tells Jeremiah.

And I am in awe. God can shape the path of NATIONS! Of course, he can shape the path of my life. How tender was the potter. He didn’t throw away the clay…he shaped it into something that worked. God, who made the very clay from which humankind came, knows the kind of pot to shape me into, and I can trust Him.

For instance, he molded me into an Alaskan. I never thought I’d see Alaska, much less live here. My mom once told me she always knew I’d end up being a midwesterner. But here I am in Alaska, having hitched a ride on my husband’s shirt-tail (figuratively speaking, of course). None of us had ever seen Alaska, not even for Rich’s job interview, and we didn’t have a home other than a hotel room once we got here. But here we are, the three of us…Alaskans. (And, yes, we found a home! It took three days–though the closing process is a different story). I wouldn’t change a thing. I’m so glad I allowed God to be my Potter.

"Yet, O Lord, you are our Father. We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand."  Isaiah 64:8

I’d love to hear when you’ve been hard clay, puddly clay, and soft clay in our Potter’s hands. Please share!

Blessings,
Voni 

