A Simple Woman’s Daybook
(join in the fun at http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/
)

For Today… Monday, January 17, 2011

Outside my window… The beginnings of a sunrise…8:55 AM.

I am thinking… It will be great fun to read “Miracle at Philadelphia” along with Leah, for her history studies.

I am thankful for… The beauty of several inches of snow on all the rooftops

I am wearing… Jeans, pink shirt, purple vest.

I am remembering…  the smell of homemade bread or rolls baking, as I entered my grandmother’s house on a winter day.

I am going… to workout today…probably an indoor walking video.

I am hoping… to have the house in order today and get back into my pre-holiday routines.

On my mind… want to read some history.

One of my favorite things… My silly wheaten terrier. She loves to give you one of the famous “wheaten kisses” behind your ear.

From the learning rooms… Science time.

Pondering these words… Great necessities call out great virtues. When a mind is raised, and animated by scenes that engage the heart, then those qualities which would otherwise lay dormant, wake into life and form the character of the hero and the statesman.“ –A. Adams

I am reading… Maeve Binchy’s “Night of Rain and Stars.” She’s not a Christian author, but she writes one awesome cozy story, something I’m trying to learn from her and Jan Karon, and even Michael Philips. Maybe that’s one reason I’m not happy with the way my novel is going.

From the kitchen… Cooking? Yuck. Guess I better make a plan for lunch and dinner. Sigh.

Around the house… In The War of Art, Steve Pressman talks about needing order in your life to allow for the creative. I’m going to work on that today.

A few plans for the rest of the week…Write, write, write (after clean, clean, clean today, that is.)

Blessings,
Voni

 

