Here are the top 10 fears, according to speech-topics-help.com:

 1. Fear of public speaking (Glossophobia)
 2. Fear of death (Necrophobia)
 3. Fear of spiders (Arachnophobia)
 4. Fear of darkness (Achluophobia, Scotophobia or Myctophobia)
 5. Fear of heights (Acrophobia)
 6. Fear of people or social situations (Sociophobia)
 7. Fear of flying (Aerophobia)
 8. Fear of open spaces (Agoraphobia)
 9. Fear of thunder and lightning (Brontophobia)
10. Fear of confined spaces (Claustrophobia)

I think it’s funny that fear of public speaking is above the fear of death. I guess people figure if speak, they actually have to face their audience afterwards, but if they die, they’ll be spared that embarrassment? 

I’ve never been afraid of public speaking. I love it, actually…I was a competitive speaker in high school, and acted in Little Theater as a child.

Death is a good fear to have. But, though I’m not ready to die, I’m not afraid either. The rest on the list probably fall into that category, too: I don’t like them, but neither am I particularly afraid of them.

"Deepest, darkest," are words that probably don’t describe my fear, because I believe that God’s perfect love through Christ casts out all fear (1 John 4:12), BUT here it is: I’m afraid of not measuring up. I’m afraid my writing will be worthless, my homeschooling will leave some stone unturned that should’ve been turned, that I’ll be a disappointment as a wife.

Yet still I write, homeschool, and am married. It’s the grace of Christ and nothing else.

1 John 4:12 says that fear has to do with punishment, in other words, consequences. I think that’s the truth about all the fears on that list. We fear the consequences of spiders or heights or social situations: death, injury, embarrassment, rejection.

God, please help me to focus on You and your will, not on the outcome of the things you have called me to do. I Trust you.

Blessings,
Voni

