I thought I’d try a little micro-fiction today. I’m feeling a little too wiped out from a rough week for more, but I wanted to put pen to paper. Or fingers to keyboard, actually. Enjoy!

A TIME FOR REJOICING;
Micro-fiction by Voni Harris
4-19-11

“Mama?” Her daughter’s voice was small and tearful. “You know that lamp?”

“The broken one?”

“Yes…Mama, I broked it.”

She patiently let the silence grow.

“’Cuz you said I couldn’t go outside, and I really wanted to play softball.

The silence grew again.

“But you said not to throw the softball inside…Are you mad?”

She kept her voice calm. “Sweetheart, I’m disappointed that you disobeyed. We won’t be going to the park this afternoon after all. Now go to your room.”

The expected tears flowed down her daughter’s cheeks as she ran to her room.

Then, and only then, did she rejoice.

Her daughter had come to her. She had been in trouble, yet she had come to her.

Blessings,
Voni

