One of my beloved blog readers (you all are beloved!) passed along this verse after reading my Word Nerd blog on the word "Inspiration."

"For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.To the one we are the smell of death; to the other, the fragrance of life. And who is equal to such a task?"  2 Corinthians 2: 15-16 (NIV)

The thought that "breath" and "spirit" mean the same thing in the root words spirare (Latin) and pneuma (Greek) definitely brings to mind the thought of being the aroma of Christ to those around us.

"All scripture [is] given by inspiration of God, and [is] profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: that the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works." 2: Timothy 3: 16-17 (KJV). The NIV says "All scripture is God-breathed."  

God’s Word is His very breath!

This also brings to mind the hymn "Breathe on me, Breath of God."

So here are the lyrics, for your pleasure. May you feel the gentle, sweet breeze of God’s breath today.
 


1. Breathe on me, Breath of God,

fill me with life anew,

that I may love what thou dost love,

and do what thou wouldst do.



2. Breathe on me, Breath of God,

until my heart is pure,

until with thee I will one will,

to do and to endure.



3. Breathe on me, Breath of God,

till I am wholly thine,

till all this earthly part of me

glows with thy fire divine.



4. Breathe on me, Breath of God,

so shall I never die,

but live with thee the perfect life

of thine eternity.

Blessings,
Voni

(I found these lyrics on hymnsite.)

