A SIMPLE WOMAN’S DAYBOOK FOR TODAY,
    
June 24, 2011

     (including a mini-review of the Thoenes’ novel, Shiloh Autumn)

 

† Outside my window…

My front window is a bay window that looks out onto our cul-de-sac, a happy place where kids can run around and play and ride their bikes without parents worrying. I love it when they use our driveway as a hill. They get on their bikes at the top and –bang– into our garage door at the bottom. Sounds of fun.

† I am thinking…

…about my blog’s switch over to WordPress. A couple of pieces I need to read for a friend. I need to trim my dog’s hair. She’s cute as a button, but a little more nervous and crazy than usual when the hair is over her eyes. Gee, I wonder why?


† I am thankful for…

…the trustworthy people of all our US military, but especially the Coast Guard today.


† From the learning rooms…

…She’s working on her novel today.

 

† From the kitchen…
…Salsa chicken. Hmmm. Wonder if I can find a recipe for Spanish rice to go with it? Gotta love the internet!


† I am wearing…
Black jeans, black and gold print shirt.


† I am creating…
…My  novel. Doing work on the characters today, narrating  the story from each main character’s point of view.


† I am going…
…to make a menu for the week. Grrr. Hate doing that. Love having it done.


† I am reading…
Shiloh Autumn by Bodie and Brock Thoene. The historical research for which they are known truly makes their novels real, and this book in particular has very real characters. My favorite passage is from chapter 3:

            “For Trudy, life was a close-up thing. Happiness was never a distant yearning, not a remote thing to seek after. She could hold love in her hands as she kneaded the bread, hear it in the echoing hills around her, see it in the faces of her husband and her children at the supper table. Miracles grew on the beanpoles her in her garden. Here. At home. 

            “As for all those leatherbound volumes? Books defined those things she saw up close and felt and knew to be true about her life. Black print on white paper gave a voice to her inner self, asked questions she had not known to ask, held up a mirror ot reflect her soul.

            “And the soul of Trudy Tucker was a large soul, and deep. It was for this reason that the bookshelves in her parlor were creamed full and still there was not room enough to hold it all.”

 

            Now, Trudy Tucker is someone I’d like to know personally. She and I could sit down for tea, or take a walk, and discuss books to our heart’s content. Lend books back and forth. Be friends. This passage in particular describes the way I like to live my life, if only I could do it as well as Trudy does. The concept of living life close-up is sweet and rings true to me as a Christian woman.

 

† I am hoping…

…to get all done that I want to accomplish today, despite having been up late and awakening early.

† I am hearing…
…Quiet. Leah’s napping after our late night, and dogs are, too.


† Around the house…
…Laundry, laundry, laundry. It never stops calling my name.

† One of my favorite things…
…Pyramid Mountain here on our island. It truly comes to a point, and looks like a pyramid, It’s large enough to entice challenge-seeking hikers, but small enough to make it do-able.

 
† A few plans for the rest of the week:
…To take the dogs to Near Island, where there’s a secluded bay they can play in. Well, the golden retriever can play in the ocean, and the wheaten terrier can run back and forth along the beach figuring out how to get out and play with him without getting wet.

 


Take some time to linger over the simple things of life with us at the Simple Woman Daybook fun at http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/

 

 Blessings,

Voni

 

