Some use words and clay; I prefer paints and brushes…

My friend, Sheila, an extraordinary artist, wife, and homeschool mom (she’s extraordinary at all three), posted these words recently, and allowed me to “steal” them to start a discussion here. So…

I wonder what you prefer. What brings the creativity out in you?

Sheila prefers paints and brushes.

My daughter prefers violin and bow.

I have friends who I can guess might say fabric and thread.

Others who might say wood and nails.

For me, it’s words and story. I understand–and explain–the world around me in terms of story, and story comes through words. I even understand God best when He says, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God…The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.” (John 1: 1, 14)

But the artistic process itself fascinates me. From the first blush of inspiration, to the blood, sweat and tears of creating something new, to the self-exposure and vulnerability of sharing that something new. Whether the end result is a painting, a house, a quilt, a poem–each part of the creative process is like a diamond to me…

A diamond to hold up to the light to see all the depths of the colors hidden in the diamond’s facets…

Facets I can’t stop looking at and wondering over.

We’re made in the image of God, who is the Creator. (Genesis 1)

So, what brings the creativity out in you?

Blessings, Voni

WRITING PROMPT: What would your main character prefer?

Check out the Bible passages I mentioned above at http://www.blueletterbible.org/

