Before this week’s Simple Woman’s Daybook entry, I have some leftover business from yesterday’s flash fiction: Recipe Stories–Spaghetti Sauce. I promised you a recipe, so here it is, the recipe Betty and Kara made to make marinara sauce. (You would not believe how difficult it is to find a recipe for marinara that doesn’t use canned tomatoes. Don’t worry, though—instructions for how to use canned tomatoes are included in the recipe for those of us from

And now…A SIMPLE WOMAN’S DAYBOOK FOR TODAY,  October 27, 2011

† Outside my window…

…Light gray skies, soggy ground, Gently swaying spruce trees. Gently being the key word.

† I am thinking…

…about the people who own the business whose roof blew off in fierce winds Tuesday. The roof slammed into a transformer and cutting electricity, phone, cable, and internet for most of Kodiak Island. We at least had electricity in our neighborhood, and my cell phone worked. But I know the life of the business owners is probably a little frazzled right now.

 
† I am thankful for…

…a school system that allows my homeschooled daughter to participate in activities, and even classes, as we deem fit.

† From the learning rooms…

…Orchestra, algebra, Joseph Ellis’s Founding Brothers, homeschool discussion time. (Same as last week, but she should finish Founding Brothers today)

† From the kitchen…
…garlic chicken fried rice for dinner tonight. Oops. Better go get out the chicken when I’m done here. Hot dog sandwich for lunch. Don’t judge me for my random hot dog cravings! Wait a minute. Writer’s group tonight. I’ll have to start cooking a little early if we’re going to have garlic chicken fried rice. Plus I need to print the recipe from the allrecipes website.
† I am wearing…
…Blue jeans and blue shirt-sweater—the kind that has a built-in camisole.

† I am creating…
…A character study based on a Black-eyed Susan flower for my writer’s group. We each took a photograph that someone brought in, and our assignment was to  We do such interesting things. I am also going to finish my chapter 2 revisions on my novel.

† I am going…
…to look up the websites for my new writer’s group friends today..

† I am reading…

…Stephen King’s On Writing. It’s not Christian reading by a long shot, but the insight to his writing is incredible and inspiring.
† I am hoping…

…to get dishes done in record time and put new sheets on the bed, and maybe finish laundry completely. All while taking care of my writer’s group assignment, finishing chapter 2 revisions on my novel, posting to my blog, checking out my friends’ blogs, running my daughter back and forth, having homeschool discussion time, calling my sister, and setting up a homeschool teen discussion group.

† I am hearing…
…quiet. Uh-oh. Going to check on the pup….Okay. Sleeping is good.

† Around the house…
…See what I am hoping above. Yeah right.

† One of my favorite things…
…Long talks with Cindy over lunch. Thanks, my friend.

† A few plans for the rest of the week:
…Homeschool discussion time.

† Here is picture thought I am sharing…

(Yeah. I love books. We call this our crawl space, because the Realtor did so in the listing when we bought the house, but it’s actually heated and has electricity and we store our numerous, double-stacked bookshelves down there.)

Take some time to linger over the simple things of life with us at the Simple Woman Daybook fun at http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/

 Blessings, Voni

