Cooking the Books by Bonnie Calhoun was a nice read about Sloane Templeton, who is having trouble finding men who don’t abuse her, at the same time she is facing the death of her mother and a threatening mystery about an antique book owned by her mother’s bookshop, AND cyber-threats. She also must keep track of her quirky older relatives, which struck me as quirky and charming, not as cheap laughs. The unique thing is how the author weaves all of these things together in the plot. So many other authors add in elements that are interesting, but don’t actually weave in with the plot. She does a phenomenal job.

Calhoun’s writing was taut and spine-tingling in parts, humorous in others, though I would’ve liked more about the Granny Oakley club. They could’ve been good for more laughs; they were great. You gotta read to understand! My favorite part was the scene in which she is confronted by the bad guy (no spoilers here). My least favorite part was the dialogue, which at parts devolved into lingo; I feel unfortunate saying this because I truly think the author was trying to use dialogue to create setting and draw the reader in. It was fine. It was just not my favorite part of the book; I still recommend it.

Blessings,
Voni

