Writers, being word-folk, seem to be especially prone to the delicious habit of choosing a Word of the Year rather than making resolutions. My word for 2013 (drum roll, please):

INTENTIONALITY

Intentionality (intend/intent) comes from to English through the French from Latin, starting with “in,” meaning “in, at.”The base word, “tendere,” means “to stretch.” Makes no sense, given our current use of the word!

Fortunately, the trusty Webster’s New World College Dictionary explains this etymology: “To stretch out for, to aim at.”

Yes. I don’t want to sit around and wait for my goals to happen, or wallow through life generally in their direction. I want to purposefully stretch out for them, aim for them.

I’m only 4’6″, so stretching out to reach things is a way of life for me. It makes sense. 🙂

~~~

10 Differences Life with Intentionality & Life as a Control Freak

  1. Intentionality is proactive; Control freaks are reactive
  2. Intentionality has purpose for self; Control freaks seek to control things out of their control
  3. Intentionality swims through the waves; Control freaks are tossed by them
  4. Intentionality is purposeful; Control freaks seek control because they have no real purpose
  5. Intentionality is all about real relationships; Control freaks seek to control others
  6. Intentionality seeks God’s calling; Control freaks submit their own plans for His approval
  7. Intentionality moves forward; Control freaks spin their wheels madly
  8. Intentionality uses lists; Control freaks are used by lists
  9. Intentionality prioritizes; Control freaks see only what is in front of them
  10. Intentionality acts boldly, out of trust and confidence; Control freaks act out of fear

Dear God, may 2013 be a year of intentionality for me. May I be about the real, the bold, the intentional this year. Above all, may I intentionally be about Your will!

2 Timothy 1:6-7 For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you
through the laying on of my hands. For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.

Dear God, may 2013 be a year of intentionality for me. May I be about the real, the bold, the purposeful this year. Above all, may I intentionally be about Your will!

Blessings,

Voni

I wrote on this a couple of years ago (three), but did not follow through (as witness by the fact I’m currently giving up diet Coke AGAIN.) I love the Disraeli quote, however.

For some Word Nerd humor, check out this Atlantic Wire link to the words that will be banned in 2013.

 

