This is one of those times on the Word Nerd path when I find myself at a place I didn’t expect.

I wanted to know the origin of the word truth. The Middle English trewe comes from the Old English treow meaning “faith.”

That, in and of itself, is enough to take the breath away.

Its IndoEuropean base is drew-, which is kin to the IE base deru. Which is where we get our word tree. The general sense is that truth is “firm [as a tree]” (Webster’s New World College Dictionary).

But here’s the next breath-taker:

Druids, lovers of trees and lovers of truth, take their name from deru as well. Plus -wid, “wisdom”. Deru-wid. Literally, oak-wise. As I’m learning (watch for an upcoming book review), much in Druid culture showed them the truth of God.

The truth as in Jesus: “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one gets to the Father but by me.”

You can check out the BBC’s article about Druidism here. The Druids, like the Jews, had the signs and markers of the Messiah in their culture. The Druids, like the Jews, often misunderstood these signs and markers, in fact, both cultures often placed more faith in the signs and markers than in the Christ to whom they pointed.

Kind of like us, eh?

Yep. Lord, give us faith and wisdom to seek You and to understand when You reveal yourself to us.

I leave you with Johnny Cash’s rendition of the hymn “Like a Tree Planted by the Water.”

 

