I don’t do poetry much. I use the things I learned from studying poetry in my fiction-writing, which rarely feels stilted to me like actual poetry does when I’m writing.

But today I had to drop off Rich at work, and on my way home I simply had to pull over when I caught a view of the ocean that caused me to gasp out loud. Yeah. I live in a place like that. I spent a few precious minutes in the glory of it, but I couldn’t stay longer because words were shaping themselves unbidden in my mind.

So I wrote them down.

Hope you enjoy!

IMG_8229

Breathtaken

written from—Kodiak, Alaska July 2013

I stare at the water, breathtaken.

The pale morning sun turns the ocean an ethereal white-blue,

As though it were lit from underneath.

The gentlest waves touch the shore

With the gentlest sound, barely heard.

I find driftwood.

I breath the air of salt and seaweed.

I stand on a boulder.

My hands raise themselves to the Creator.

My face smiles.

The moment does not soothe,

Nor bring peace.

No.

It stirs my very soul.

IMG_8236

The Art of Alaska

Written from Kodiak, Alaska, July 2013

Sometimes when you live in a place like this,

You weakly choose that word “beautiful.”

Nouns and verbs can’t do justice to the beauty before you.

There just isn’t a word for it.

In any language.

 

Sometimes when you live in a place like this,

You snap a photo then hit delete.

A picture can’t do justice to the beauty before you.

A little bunch of pixels

Doesn’t match the truth.

 

Sometimes when you live in a place like this,

Music stays quiet in your soul.

Notes and rests can’t do justice to the beauty before you.

Though music tries its hardest.

It merely comes close.

 

After all, the Creator is the Most High God.

And we’re, well, human.

But…

 

Sometimes when you live in a place like this,

The music, the picture, the words

Merge with the mountains, the ocean, the wildflower fields before you.

And there, at the confluence,

You capture the wonder.

IMG_8219

 
