2014-01-15 12.11.26

Horsing around, the teen accidentally knocks into me.

“My bad,” she says with a grin.

And the teens take their game to where it won’t bother the adults.
20140115-124534.jpg

“You tell your brother you’re sorry!” the young mom says to her first grade son.

“Sorry!” the child says, glaring at his brother.

“Okay. Now go play and quit harassing him.”

I despise the current saying, “My bad.” However, “I’m sorry,” is not much better.

The sayer of a forced “Sorry!” clearly needs a parent who deals with heart issues. Yet even a self-imposed “I’m sorry” can take the form of a social mannerism rather than a true apology. It often doesn’t even reach the level of “I hurt your feelings, and I feel sorry about that.”

The sayer of “My Bad” clearly is taking responsibility and acknowledging they caused a problem. That’s a good turn in today’s society. But something about it still doesn’t ring true to me.

I will expound further next Wednesday, but I want to hear your opinions first.

It’s My-Bad versus I’m-Sorry in a battle for the generations.

What say you?

Blessings,

Voni

