Barometer2.1

Good morning! Here is my Barometer Mountain photo for Week 2! As promised, it was taken about 4:00 last Friday, from the same spot as Week 1. Below is the same photo, only I zoomed in, so locals could tell where I am going to be taking my picture each week.

Barometer2Looking at weatherunderground, Kodiak had a record 2.74 inches of rain last Friday, so I was grateful that my picture-taking coincided with the clouds taking a rest. We got roughly 1/4 of our month-to-date rain on Friday, primarily in the 12 Am-3AM time period. Winds gusted up to 45 miles an hour. With a high of 46 and a low of 40, we were well within “normal” Kodiak weather: warmish, windy and rainy.

Sunrise was at 9:38 and Sunset was 5:02, with civil twilight lasting until 5:49. That means that our day was 7 hours, 23 minutes, and our length of visible light was 8 hours, 58 minutes. (For reference: today, January 20, we’ll have 9 hours, 7 minutes of visible light. Onward to spring!)

What is civil twilight? It is officially when the “center of the refracted sun is more than 6 degrees below the horizon” (Dictionary.com)  — plenty enough for outdoor activities.

Next week, I will try to learn how Barometer Mountain got its name. Please feel free to pin and share. Alaska’s such a unique place to live, full of God’s infinite creativity.

Blessings,

Voni

PS: For those of you just tuning in, my goal is to take a picture of Barometer Mountain from the same place each Friday sometime between 4:00 and 4:30 each week for a year. I’d like to put together a time-lapse piece set to music after all 52 photos are done. But I’ve also got a novel to write and a senior to home educate, which also means a daughter to send off to college this year. We’ll see if I have enough time to learn another computer program. 🙂

