Barometer18.1

 

Yep, Barometer Mountain was sure in fine form Friday, May 9 for my self-imposed Barometer Mountain 52-week photo challenge. Look! The grass beside the road is green (ish)! Soon all of Barometer will be, as well, though some of that snow/ice will stay for most of the summer.

Barometer18.2

 

Our temps on Friday ranged from 63 to 47 degrees. Sunrise was at 5:59 AM, while sunset was at 10:14 PM, so our actual visible light was 17 hours, 59 minutes. However, when I was looking up the info on Weather Underground, I noticed that “astronomical twilight” said, “Sun does not rise.”

Huh?

So I looked up their definition for Astronomical Twilight–i.e., I hovered my mouse over the words–and here it is:

“Astronomical Twilight
The time period when the sun is between 12 and 18 degrees below the horizon at either sunrise or sunset. The sun does not contribute to the illumination of the sky before this time in the morning, or after this time in the evening. In the beginning of morning astronomical twilight and at the end of astronomical twilight in the evening, sky illumination is very faint, and might be undetectable.”
So, I guess in Kodiak at this time of year, the earth’s tilt toward the sun keeps the sun very near our horizon, but we’re still far enough south that the sun dips low enough (12-18 degrees below the horizon) to give us dark.
At least, I, for one, call undetectable sky illumination, “darkness.”
Dude! I misjudged last Wednesday, and didn’t post my Word Nerd blog entry. Sorry about that! It’ll be there Wednesday, I promise.
Blessings!
Voni
