FOR TODAY…NOVEMBER 18, 2014

Outside my window…

Horizontal rain gusting—yes, gusting—through the air, manically waving spruce trees, the mournful sound of the buoy in the distance…Typical Kodiak weather in the fall.

 

I am thinking…

My tutoring and my writing and my workouts, and my volunteering need to work together.

Somehow.

Not doing so well with balance right now.

 

I am thankful…

For some online tools that will help me find that balance.

Above that, Friends

Above that, Family

Above all: The open arms of Jesus, no matter how out-of-balance I am.

 

In the kitchen…

A bunch of dirty dishes…see my “thinking” entry. It’s a frozen pizza kinda night.

 

I am wearing…

Jeans (what else?)

Marbled purple camisole under a gauzy pink shirt.

My blue sweater…see my “outside the window” entry for today.

 

I am creating…

A suspense novel. Thinking Simple Woman Daybook will get the words flowing again until I can create—

A new blog (which will include the Daybook.)

 

I am going…

Nowhere, until time to tutor…horizontal rain does not encourage going anywhere, I gotta say.

 

I am wondering…

Who now has my husband’s luggage? After more than a week, the airline has officially called it missing.  My writer’s curiosity is piqued.

 

I am reading…

Getting Things Done by David Allen–Learning a lot.

Poisontown by Creston Mapes–This main character needs to get it together. He’s still just kinda tugging at the strings rather than seriously working to unknot what is going on in this town. So far.

 

I am hoping…

That a phonics boot-camp will boost my tutoring students. A couple hours a day during Christmas break, when they’re not having homework to focus on.

 

I am looking forward to…

Thanksgiving. To me, it is the perfect holiday, a blend of Christianity and patriotism

 

I am learning…

Getting Things Done by David Allen came to me at the perfect time. How to be in the ready position like a martial artist, ready to neither underreact nor overreact to the things on your to-do list or in your inbox. How to use the list to free your mind so you can focus your creativity on only on the task at hand. How to cease thrashing around and actually, well, get things done.

 

Around the house…

I was going to wax poetic about the dogs following me upstairs to my writing room, silent and loyal in their support of my writing.

But no, they’ve abandoned me to sleep in the hallway. LOL.

 

I am pondering…

What I should be doing next…Finish Getting Things Done, I suppose. So I can get my daily plan of action under control. Writing, I suppose. I need to get the ideas from my extended synopsis embedded into my plot line. Those dirty dishes, I suppose.

Sigh.

 

A favorite quote for today…

“In karate there is an image that’s used to define the position of perfect readiness: ‘mind like water.’ Imagine throwing a pebble into a still pond. How does the water react? The answer is, totally appropriately to the force and mass of the input; then it returns to calm. It doesn’t overreact or underreact…Anything that causes you to overreact or underreact can control you, and often does.”

From Getting Things Done by David Allen

 

One of my favorite things…

Our cuddly dog, Nikki, owner of the world’s softest ears.

 

A few plans for the rest of the week…

Take action on my phonics boot camp idea. Finish Allen’s book.

 

A peek into my day…

Goldie

Goldie…My writing partner. Before he wantonly abandoned me to go take a nap. 

Blessings,

Voni

 

 simple-woman-daybook-small
To join in the fun, head over to Simple Woman’s Daybook

