FOR TODAY

January 26, 2014

 

Outside my window…

Dark, except for the golden Christmas lights still decorating my neighbor’s window across the cul-de-sac. The mellow yellow light above me (It is 5 a.m.) is reflecting off the wind chime in our bay window.

 

I am thinking…

There seems to be time for all I have to do today, even my writing. (Of course, I am up at 5 a.m.!) This is a great time of day to get to my writing.

 

I am thankful…

That I do not have a headache. It has been over 36 hours since my last diet Coke. Slept well, but FULL of very vivid dreams. The lady walking through the desert wearing gloves, delirious. Weird. Not scary. Not just vivid. Very vivid. And continual, all night.

 

In the kitchen…

It’s clean! Ought to mop, though. But this is writing time.

 

I am wearing…

Pajamas (Did I mention that I got up at 5 am?), thick socks, and a red, hooded jacket of soft fleece. When I say it’s too big for me, I mean it. Comfy!

 

I am creating…

Blog entries for now. Moving to my novel later, perhaps.

 

I am going…

To the church for the weekly bookkeeping, later. Took me a full week to “catch up” last week. Takes ½-hour to do it weekly. Life lesson learned. Sigh. To learn life lessons at the age of—ahem—nearly 50 is a bit nuts, right?

 

I am wondering…

If my lack of caffeine led to my very vivid dreams.

I am reading…

Rene Guttridge’s novelization of Old Fashioned. Hope that movie makes it to Kodiak. Exploring the idea of when old-fashioned meets boring, when personal values meets fear. Is he abiding by strong personal values, or just afraid of opening himself up to a relationship?

 

I am hoping…

My tutoring student marked up her essay.

I am looking forward to…

Speaking with one of my tutoring students today. I want to tell her about Turner’s Syndrome, which is actually in her biology book. And just in time for February’s TS Awareness Month.

 

I am learning…

How to follow a schedule. Maybe? I’m only almost-50, and this is not a life lesson I should STILL be learning. I am very good at making schedules, but then I don’t follow them. Sigh…

On the other hand, I am alive, well, and still learning. That’s a good thing. More than good. A fantastic thing. One that will get writing back into my life.

 

Around the house…

Dog hair = vacuuming before my first tutoring student.

 

I am pondering…

Why is God laying out titles, covers, research possibilities, and NOT a plot idea for the CGAK series I want to write? Not a single plot point or character flaw.

 

A favorite quote for today…

Quote? It is 5 in the morning, right?

 

One of my favorite things…

Waking up early. Now to turn it into productive time…

A few plans for the rest of the week…

Take pictures around Kodiak for my blog.

 

A peek into my day…

Writing early, take Rich to work, then quick tidy around the house (and vacuum), then tutor, lunch, tutor, tutor, tutor, pick up Rich. Hopefully clip poor Harley this evening in front of the TV.

If you’d like to join in the fun, head over to the Simple Woman Daybook and link up your own Daybook entry. 🙂

simple-woman-daybook-small Blessings on your day!  –Voni

