simple-woman-daybook-large

For Today: February 2, 2015

Kodiak, Alaska weather right now: 27 degrees right now, mostly clear (but dark!). Expecting to get sun and up to 39 degrees today. Sunrise at 9:15 AM, and sunset at 5:48. (Total of 9 hours, 59 minutes of visible daylight)

Outside my window…

…it’s dark, of course. It’s my second week up early to write! Though, we did notice yesterday that it was pretty light out at 8 AM when we took the dogs out. In Alaska, that’s big. Also, someone’s already up in the house behind ours. I can see their kitchen lights on. Hello, fellow early riser!

 

I am thinking…

…that I’ve got a lot to do today. Hope I get some writing done after this so that I get some progress done on my manuscript or my edits for my critique partner.

I am thankful…

… that I got to Skype last night with College Girl, my daughter who is off in that far-away land of Texas doing such things as going to college and working.

I am wearing…

…pajamas—the light pink plaid ones—and my oversized red writing jacket. What’s a writing jacket? It’s a huge flannel jacket you wear over your pajamas because you live in Alaska, and it’s a little chilly in the house in the morning.

I am creating…

…a novel! Yes! I actually wrote on it over the last three days. And figured out a major plot problem.

I am going…

…to head over to the church this morning, and borrow some clothespins, which I will attach to hangers to demonstrate essay-writing to my tutoring student. A thick plastic hanger will be the theme of the essay, with thin metal hangers being each paragraph of the essay and the clothespins being the different facts, observations, stories, evidence to support the topic sentence of each paragraph. Writing that out helped me figure it out!

I am wondering…

…What the new subplot will do to the rest of my novel.

I am reading…

Defenseless by Matt Lenz: A first-person novel about a man working to solve his wife’s murder when police seem unwilling or incompetent (haven’t decided which yet).

A quote from this book:

(He’s jumped off the dock into the lake to avoid being caught trespassing as he hunts for the murderer’s getaway truck)

“I found a rhythm and kept at it for two or three minutes. My breathing raced, and I knew I couldn’t keep it up for much longer. The sound of a motor came across the water, and I stopped. I tread water and turned until I could see the lights of the estate and boathouse. A small boat pulled away from the dock. It was the flat-bottomed boat, and a man with a powerful searchlight stood in the bow, swinging the beam in a wide arc.”

I am hoping…

…to buy a new water bottle today. I left my other one at the movie theater, and I’ve given up diet Coke. Pouting about both things.

I am learning…

…a little bit about dyslexia for a tutoring student of mine. Lots of backwards letters, but no other real problems, though.

I am pondering…

…a morning schedule that has me writing first thing, followed by work-out, shower, Bible study, and daily chores after I take Rich to work.

In my kitchen…

…I ate pretty badly yesterday, Super Bowl Sunday and all, so I’m trying to decide whether I should go make some sausage biscuits or stick with cereal. Either way, I’m pouting about the whole no-diet-Coke thing, even if I’m glad I’m past the fatigue and simmering headache, and don’t want the aspartame anyway. It took about a week to get past the physical complaints, maybe another week to get past the pouting?

A favorite quote for today…

…“A God who let us prove his existence would be an idol.”

― Dietrich Bonhoeffer

A peek into one of my days…

…Fox News in the background, Nikki and Harley attacking each other in joy at getting out of their dog kennels for the day. A good-morning smooch from hubby. Thanks for taking the dogs out this morning, Babe! Yep. Off to a good start, even if I’m pouting about diet Coke. J Good morning, all! Blessings on your day!

Please, join the fun at http://thesimplewoman.blogspot.com/ and link up your blog!

