simple-woman-daybook-large

Simple Woman’s Daybook For Today: February 9, 2015

Kodiak, Alaska weather right now: 29 degrees, but it’s supposed to go to 40 today. 8:58 AM will be our sunrise, 6:04 PM will be sunset, giving us 10 hours, 27 minutes of visible light.

Outside my window…

…Snow! I would tell you how much exactly, but Weather Underground is apparently a bit off. We haven’t had had 38 inches of snow since July! This is our first this year that’s more than a dusting. I’d guess 4-5 inches or so. We apparently had hail last night, but we were in bed. Early risers also go to bed early.

 

I am thinking…

…What am I going to put on the quiz for my tutoring student?

I am thankful…

…Rich is back from his short trip to Anchorage. Things just feel–right–when he’s home.

family 5-11 019 

I am wearing…

…my usual early-morning writing attire: pajamas!

I am creating…

…a new scene in the novel I’m writing, in which my main character discovers what’s on the flash drive. (Insert suspenseful music here.) But first, I have to decide where this scene will go.

I am going…

…to postpone my weekly trip to the church until this afternoon before tutoring, since Rich is home today, and we don’t have to go anywhere.

I am wondering…

…what’s for breakfast? Tummy’s grumbling. I love it, because it means I didn’t overeat last night. Rich brought Arby’s home from Anchorage. We don’t have one on the island, and we love a beef n’ cheddar. They sent them without the cheese sauce, since we were going to be warming it up. We just added a slice of cheddar. Yum!

I am reading…

Firewall by the great Southern writer, DiAnn Mills. It’s an FBI suspense, and I’m enjoying it tremendously. I’m guessing Taryn won’t end up charged with the bombing, but they’ve got to find the do-er to clear her, and find the missing child!

A quote from this book:

…“I’ve never thought about myself as a mother, but I like the sound of it.” (Taryn)

This is a really tender moment in the story. Warmed my heart.

I am hoping…

…to finish editing/re-reading and write some new scenes on my novel today. But it’s a busy tutoring day, so we’ll see. Plus, my clean laundry pile is crying to be folded.

 

I am learning…

…to make good use of our leftovers. I’m not very good at remembering them, much less using them.

I am pondering…

…how to get all that I need to do in my schedule. Adding in workouts this week is the priority. Of course, yesterday, I spent two hours shoveling our driveway, since Rich wasn’t here, and I had to get out to get to the airport to get him home. Therefore, today’s off. J

In my kitchen…

…is Rich. He’s the better cook, and he actually loves to cook. I love the cleanup.

A favorite quote for today…

… “Imagine yourself as a living house. God comes in to rebuild that house. At first, perhaps, you can understand what He is doing. He is getting the drains right and stopping the leaks in the roof and so on; you knew that those jobs needed doing and so you are not surprised. But presently He starts knocking the house about in a way that hurts abominably and does not seem to make any sense. What on earth is He up to? The explanation is that He is building quite a different house from the one you thought of – throwing out a new wing here, putting on an extra floor there, running up towers, making courtyards. You thought you were being made into a decent little cottage: but He is building a palace. He intends to come and live in it Himself.”
― C.S. LewisMere Christianity

This quote makes me think of my favorite Bible passage from Jeremiah:

[Jer 18:1-6 NIV] 1 This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the LORD: 2 “Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.” 3 So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel. 4 But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him. 5 Then the word of the LORD came to me. 6 He said, “Can I not do with you, Israel, as this potter does?” declares the LORD. “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, Israel.

May He ever have a building permit in my heart. May I ever be soft clay in my Potter’s hands!

A peek into one of my days…

Total quiet. The dogs are back asleep, and so is Rich. Happy day off, my love!

I highly recommend you do your own daybook! Please, join the Simple Woman fun at http://thesimplewoman.blogspot.com/ and link up your blog!

