For Today…

March 16, 2015

39 degrees and light rain (Typical Kodiak, Alaska weather!)

Sunrise: 8:22, Sunset: 8:25

Total hours of visible light: 13 hours and 9 minutes.

(Thank you, weather underground!)

 

Outside my window…

…Dark. Again. Even the neighbor’s cheerful Christmas lights are down. It was starting to get light this time of day. Until Daylight Savings Time. I’m not opposed to DST, though. It keeps us sort of on target with those of you who live down South, especially those in the Eastern Time Zone. However, the Alaska legislature is considering a bill to do away with DST here. That would put us FIVE hours off of Eastern Time for a good portion of the year. It would also put part of Alaska into Pacific Time. We’ll see what happens with that!

 

I am thinking…

…Spring break = 30-degree temperatures? Humph! At least it’s not 40 below. “Springtime in Alaska means 40 below!” Who sang that song?

 

I am thankful…

…that my hubby is upstairs reading the Bible. He’s been gone a LONG time out of the last six weeks, between trips for work and the trip down to North Carolina when Mom got sick. Things feel right again. Texting and phone calls just aren’t the same!

 

I am wearing…

…pajamas and my giant red sweater. What? You expected me to be wearing something else for my early morning writing time?

 

I am creating…

…the best mountain-climbing scene ever for my novel, thanks to the help of an old friend.

 

I am going…

 

I am wondering…

…why people are so easily offended these days. Hear the story about the clothing company, Salvo? Their laundry tag adds: “Give this to your woman. It’s her job.” I personally thought it was funny, teasing men who can’t do their own laundry. Others thought it was sexist. (http://talkingpointsmemo.com/livewire/salvo-sports-sexist-clothing-label)

Laundry

 

 

I am reading…

Beowulf, third in the awesome Ronie Kendig’s “A Breed Apart” fiction series that takes you into the world of the Military War Dog. I’ve never seen

 

 

I am hoping…

…today will be a strong writing day for my novel, since I have several tutoring students gone for Spring break.

 

I am learning…

…to watch for God’s grace in the little things: the person who lets me ahead of them in line at the store, the quick text from a friend, a smile from a waitress. Things like forgiveness or a big favor are easy to see, but these little things?

How has God shown you grace lately?

How can you show God’s grace today?

 

In my kitchen…

…Taco Monday! We already have some ground beef cooked up, since ours comes in 2-pound packages and, uh, there’s only two of us to feed!

 

 

A favorite quote for today…

“Wounds from a friend can be trusted, but an enemy multiplies kisses.”

–Proverbs 27:6

 

A peek into one of my days…

 Spoons

 

One of my favorite things…

 

…is my new leather purse, brought from Anchorage by my adorable and adoring husband, whom I missed while he was gone.

Blessings,

Voni

BY THE WAY: Create your own daybook by clicking on the link below.

simple-woman-daybook-small

