For Today: March 23, 2015

Kodiak, Alaska weather right now: 39.6 degrees with a sunrise of 8:03, and sunset at 8:30 tonight. This will give us 13 hours, 45 minutes of visible sunlight. Definitely on the upward swing! I am confused, though, because Weather Underground says our high will be 37. Weather Channel App suggests 43 for our high.

Outside my window…

…Dark, still, with dots of light here and there: streetlights.

 

I am thinking…

…the link-up between Boko Haram and ISIS is something to watch. Both are bad actors on the world stage. We need a world leader to step forward against terror, and I’m afraid that leadership is not coming from America right now. Fortunately, I serve a God who is Truth itself, who both knows all and loves all as he weaves the threads of world history, and of our individual lives.

I am thankful…

…for my hubby. The other night, I was writing a very intense scene that takes place in HellHole Canyon, California. He cooked dinner and came up to let me know it was ready. He could see that I was totally in concentration mode, so he simply brought my dinner up to me! Got the scene done a few minutes later, then took my salmon corn chowder, roasted zucchini, and croissants down to watch basketball with him. What a man!

If you’re curious about HellHole Canyon, and want to see some spine-tingling photos, here’s a great link: HellHole Canyon 

I am wearing…

…pink plaid pajamas. And my red early-morning writing sweater. Yep! Height of fashion, here.

I am creating…

…a schedule that will let me finish my novel, keep my house clean, tutor my students, and maybe even bake bread!

I am going…

…to call my sister today!

I am wondering…

…Does anyone really use brown bags anymore? We use grocery sacks for lunch packing.

I am reading…

Beowulf by the amazing writer, Ronie Kendig. Timbrel, a military war dog handler, loves Tony, a Christian special ops guy, but she is just too afraid to let him in. I’m talking your-insides-go-liquid afraid. (Seriously, Kendig writes Timbrel’s fear so you feel it. This is one afraid chick, and for reason!) Meanwhile, of course, they need to save the world.

A quote from this book:

…”What we have, what we go through—defines us. Makes us. Changes us, whether for better or worse, it crafts us.” –Spoken by Tony VanAllen in Beowulf. True in life. Very insightful way to say it, I think. It’s also the very reason I love the character-crafting part of fiction writing, and even more so, I love getting to know people.

I am hoping…

…to get my post-midpoint scene written today, despite it being a heavy tutoring day.

 

I am learning…

…to box my time. You know, I’m go into my writing box, and stay there until time to leave. When I’m in my tutoring box, I’m totally focused on each student. When it’s housework time, well, I turn on the TV, too. LOL. The point is to do what I’m doing, and trust my schedule. Of course, flexibility comes into play, but this attitude truly allows me to focus on doing each thing well.

I am pondering…

…the ebb and flow of world history, and how God so skillfully weaves all the threads together from generation to generation.

In my kitchen…

…Note to self: Rich wants his apples cut up for his brown-bags, but not his oranges.

A favorite quote for today…

… (See “I am Pondering” and “”I am Thinking” above)

Let everyone be subject to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. Consequently, whoever rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves. For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong. Do you want to be free from fear of the one in authority? Then do what is right and you will be commended. For the one in authority is God’s servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for rulers do not bear the sword for no reason. They are God’s servants, agents of wrath to bring punishment on the wrongdoer. Therefore, it is necessary to submit to the authorities, not only because of possible punishment but also as a matter of conscience.

This is also why you pay taxes, for the authorities are God’s servants, who give their full time to governing. Give to everyone what you owe them: If you owe taxes, pay taxes; if revenue, then revenue; if respect, then respect; if honor, then honor.

Romans 13:1-7 (NIV)

A peek into my world…

IMG_0255  (and you wonder why we’re going to put in hardwood. LOL)

I highly recommend you do your own daybook! Please, join the Simple Woman fun at http://thesimplewoman.blogspot.com/ and link up your blog!

